## JAMESTOWN PUBLIC SCHOOL Special Meeting Official Minutes

School Board special meeting on Monday, August 7, 2023 at 5:00 pm in the Thompson Community room in the Middle School.

Present: President Larson, Vice President Tweten, Jamie Bear, Melissa Gleason, Diane Hanson, Gayle Nelson, Aaron Roberts, Jason Rohr, Superintendent, Robert Lech and Kristi Grounds, Business Manager.

President Larson called the meeting to order, welcomed the audience, Jason Linz, Jamestown Video and Amy Neustel, Administrative Assistant.

Mrs. Nelson moved, seconded by Mr. Tweten to approve the consent agenda which consisted of revision of the Non-Teaching Professionals and Central Office Administrators handbook, Teacher handbook, Support Staff handbook, memorandum of understanding for Lori Hare as Family and Consumer Science Teacher, updated James Valley Career and Technology Center Office Manager description, 2023-2024 review of personnel transfer form, foreign exchange student. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Tweten moved, seconded by Mrs. Nelson to approve the agreement with Connect Teletherapy for virtual Speech Language Therapy Services. Discussion on the definition of hours for 1 FTE. Mr. Tweten amended the motion, seconded by Mr. Rohr to approve agreement with a written clarification to the contract with the definition of hours for 1 FTE. Roll call vote: Hanson, yes; Bear, yes: Larson, yes; Rohr, yes; Nelson, yes; Tweten, yes; Roberts, yes; Gleason, yes. 8-0, Motion carried.

Mr. Veldkamp arrived at 5:25 pm.

Mr. Roberts moved, seconded by Mrs. Bear to approve the 2023-2024 draft preliminary budgets. A memo on changes from now to the final budget was requested. Roll call vote: Bear, yes; Larson, yes; Rohr, yes; Nelson, yes; Tweten, yes; Roberts, yes; Veldkamp, yes; Gleason, yes; Hanson, yes. 9-0, Motion carried.

Mrs. Bear moved, seconded by Mrs. Gleason to approve the resignation of Laurie Christensen at the end of 23-24 school year semester one. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Tweten moved, seconded by Mrs. Nelson to approve the unsigned resignation for the 23-24 elementary education contract for Bryan Edens. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Roberts moved, seconded by Mrs. Gleason to approve the hires for 2023-2024 school year, upon a successful background check and appropriate licensure of Jerry Waagen, JVCTC Work-Based Learning at a pro-rated salary of \$50,906, Laurie Christensen, JVCTC teacher at a pro-rated salary of \$26,150 for first semester, Scott Fritz, elementary teacher, at pro-rated salary of \$43,468.32 not to exceed 700 hours, Brianna Mayhair, English teacher at a salary of \$46,000 and Jordan Brown, Elementary teacher at a salary of \$46,000. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

A correction of Hannah Dockter name should be Chantel Harr. Mrs. Nelson moved, seconded by Mrs. Gleason to approve the 2023-2024 extended contracts for semester 1 for Chantel Harr, Larry Eslick, Ken Gardner, Anthony McIntyre, Shelly Moltzen, and Tim Ranum.

Discussion of what the definition of days for extended contracts instead of semester. Compensation for middle school and high school in comparison to elementary doesn't get compensation. Extended contract consistency and compensation will be discussed at a future retreat. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Roberts moved, seconded by Mr. Tweten to approve the amended policies: FFD, Possessing Weapons, FFK, Suspension and Expulsion, and KAAA, Visitors in Schools. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Veldkamp moved, seconded by Mr. Rohr to approve the 20223-2024 agreement for policy services through ND School Board Association. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

President Larson adjourned the meeting at 5:40 pm.