JAMESTOWN PUBLIC SCHOOL Special Meeting Unofficial Minutes

School board meeting on Monday, July 10, 2023 at 12:15 pm in the District Office Conference Room, 207 2nd Ave SE, Jamestown.

Present: Heidi Larson, President, Dan Tweten, Vice President, Jamie Bear, Melissa Gleason, Diane Hanson, Jason Rohr, Aaron Roberts, Superintendent, Robert Lech and Kristi Grounds, Business Manager. Gayle Nelson and Steve Veldkamp were absent.

Guests: Levi Hirschkorn, and Kristi Eberhardt.

President Larson called the meeting to order and welcomed the audience and Amy Neustel, Administrative Assistant.

Mrs. Bear moved, seconded by Mrs. Hanson to approve the Teacher Master Agreement for 2023-2025 school years. Roll call vote: Gleason, yes; Hanson, yes; Bear, yes; Larson, yes; Rohr, yes; Tweten, yes; Roberts, yes. Passed 7-0. Motion carried. Thank you to all negotiation team members involved in the work to complete negotiations.

Mr. Tweten moved, seconded by Mr. Roberts to approve a 4% increase in salary for Non-Teaching Professionals. Roll call vote: Gleason, yes; Hanson, yes; Bear, yes; Larson, yes; Rohr, yes; Tweten, yes; Roberts, yes. Passed 7-0. Motion carried.

Mr. Roberts moved, seconded by Mrs. Hanson to approve the \$6,000 probationary increase along with an annual increase of 4% for the Business Manager Position. Discussion was if this was setting a precedent with a probationary amount. Mr. Tweten reported the amount was within guidelines of reviewing other area business manager's salaries. Roll call vote: Hanson, yes; Bear, yes; Larson, yes; Rohr, no; Tweten, yes; Roberts, yes; Gleason, no. Passed 5-2. Motion carried.

Mr. Roberts moved, seconded by Mrs. Bear to approve a flat \$2,000 salary increase for the Superintendent along with contract changes to vacation accrual caps. Roll call vote: Bear, yes; Larson, yes; Rohr, yes; Tweten, yes; Roberts, yes; Gleason, yes; Hanson, yes. Passed 7-0. Motion carried.

Mr. Tweten moved, seconded by Mr. Roberts to approve submission of application for Alternative High School Program. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

Mrs. Bear moved, seconded by Mrs. Gleason to approve the agreement amendment for the ND Career and Technical Education Capital Projects Grant. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

Mrs. Bear moved, Mr. Tweten seconded to approve submission of the Work-Based Learning Coordinator Grant. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Tweten moved, seconded by Mrs. Hanson to approve the extended agreement for Jeff Meissner as Dean of Students for the 2023-2024 school year in the amount of \$20,000. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

Mrs. Bear moved, seconded by Mr. Rohr to approve the extended agreement for Heidi Eckart as Dean of Students for the 2023 -2024 school year in the amount of \$ 20,000. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Rohr moved, seconded by Gleason to approve the aviation instructor for the 2022-2023 school year. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Tweten moved, seconded by Mr. Rohr to approve the resignation of Kristina Barton, Instructional Coach. The board thanks Mrs. Barton for her service at Jamestown Public Schools. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

Mr. Roberts moved, seconded by Mr. Tweten to approve the amended DDAF Sick Leave Bank Policy. Roll call with unanimous "yes" vote. Motion carried.

There being no further business, President Larson adjourned the meeting.